young professional leading a meeting

7 Levels of Leadership Coaching to Become an Ideal Leader

The first part of the Energy Leadership™ Development System consists of the foundational segments that help you know where you are, realize where you want to be, and recognize and break through any of the blocks that are in the way of your success. It is firmly rooted in seven levels of awareness, which will catapult your energy and performance to a level is perceived by all those around you as the “ideal” for your role.

As part of the Core Energy Leadership Coaching program, you will learn about these levels of leadership and the impact of catabolic or anabolic energy. You will be coached on how to
become your ideal image of who you need to be as a leader for your situation, division, team and/or company. There are no limits to the potential growth that you can achieve. Once you realize that your level of consciousness is directly related to your actions, you can move from functioning effectively, to functioning optimally.

Everyone has the ability to experience all seven levels of energy and typically moves up and down these levels from one experience to the next. Leadership coaching brings sharper awareness to these levels and what drives your perceptions, feelings, and actions. Increasing
your awareness helps you assess which levels you spend most of your time, which ultimately effects your ability to lead both yourself through a situation and others around you.

Energy Leadership helps you manage your energy to become a more effective leader with more successful, predictable outcomes. You will learn leadership principles and techniques to
change any habits your patterns that bring about negative results. In turn, you will begin responding instead of reacting to any given situation and achieve the ability to sustain higher levels of energy for longer periods of time.

The Seven levels of energy are called the Energetic Self Perception Chart; it was created by Bruce D. Schneider, the founder of iPEC Coaching. Levels 1 and 2 focus on catabolic energy and moving toward levels 3-7 that focus more on anabolic energy (Click here to learn more about catabolic and anabolic energy).


Here is a brief overview of the seven levels of energy:

Level 1: Victim Mentality

The first level of energy maintains an “I can’t” attitude that keeps a person stuck where they are, in a state of fear, self-doubt, low engagement, indifference, and stress. Although it can be effective when you need to protect yourself from harm, it generally serves as a blocker that holds you back, believing everything happens to you making you powerless to change, and that negative outcomes are someone else’s fault.

Level 2: Combativeness

The stress and self-doubt of level 1 energy moves toward anger and a state of conflict or defiance. The effect is often a pattern of conflict and bullying, leading through fear and intimidation. It fosters judgement and resentment, narrow thinking, and resistance to working with others.

Level 3: Accountability

Reaching Level 3 is that start of Anabolic energy and the beginning of cooperation. It incorporates a sense of responsibility and rationalization, letting go of anger and releasing the negativity of others preventing them from standing in the way of what you want. But it also includes a sense of tolerance and peacekeeping, at times just accepting or dealing with things even when you don’t agree with them.

Level 4: Care for Others

Filled with empathy, tenderness, and warmth, level 4 cultivates a sense of teamwork and loyalty. There is a concern for others, a desire to fulfill a role of care and support, and a want to feel needed. Motivation, however, is still centered on approval rather than productivity and efforts left unrecognized may lead to feeling victimized.

Level 5: Partnership

Letting go of judgement leads to a state of calm, peace, contentment, and fulfillment. It allows a person to focus on solutions, solving problems efficiently and enabling one to turn challenges into opportunities. With a sense of optimism though, there is also a higher willingness to take risks.

Level 6: Visionary

Reaching a visionary level allows leaders to gain wisdom and enlightenment, believing everything has value and purpose. Not only is one able to identify opportunities, but they attract opportunities with an ability to connect without judgement and to access intuition.

Level 7: Total Bliss

The highest level of energy optimizes thinking and a fulfilling passion for life and experiences. Through joy and intelligence, opportunities are not just identified, but created for others.

Moving up levels increases your level of influence and effective leadership.



Some information on this page has been provided through iPEC as a Certified iPEC Professional Coach and Master Practitioner of the Energy Leadership Index. No reproduction or retransmission is permitted without expressed written consent of Bruce D Schneider and the Institute for Professional Excellence in Coaching (iPEC).

© Institute for Professional Excellence in Coaching (iPEC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *